Mr. Chae

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

BS: Biology & Chemistry BA: Management BA: Education (1-8) MS: Sports Psychology (Pending Thesis)

Mr. Chae

I am Mr. Chae.  My given name was Son, but I do go by Ben. I was born in Seoul, South Korea but was raised in the Midwest.  One of the degrees I have is in Education and I began my teaching career in Houston.  I have been teaching for almost 25 years mostly in the intermediate grades (3,4,5), have been a science specialist, and was a math consultant.  I even spent two years teaching 1st grade!  When you've been teaching for as long as I have, when the opportunity to stretch yourself comes up, you take it!  I learned a lot about reading acquisition from the little ones.

I moved to Central Texas about 10 years ago from Houston and had the honor of being a finalist in the 2013 HEB Excellence in Education Award in Leadership. It was a huge honor because thousands of teachers applied for this distinguishment and being recognized was the highlight of my career!

My wife is also an educator and I have two college aged kids.  My daughter is in the East Coast and my son will be headed there too once it is safe to travel. In the meantime he will be distance learning, too, before heading off to New York for college.  I also have two stepdaughters.  

My hobbies are cooking, motorcycling, and longboarding (NOT skateboarding).  I also just enjoy being with my family and my wife is my favorite person in the whole wide world!

I look forward to having a great year with your child!  Go Patriots! (Beef jerky is always welcomed in my class!  I don't like sweets but love jerky!)