What is the Difference Between a Qualifying & Non-Qualifying Student?
Prospective students are defined as qualifying or non-qualifying.
A qualifying student is a child who meets at least one of the Pre-K qualifying criteria. (Pre-K qualifying criteria are established by the Texas legislature.)
If your child is a qualifying student, they are eligible to attend Pre-K at the Pre-K cluster campus for their neighborhood school.
If your child is a non-qualifying student, they are eligible to attend the Pre-K Academy at West Avenue as a tuition student. This is the only NEISD school with a tuition Pre-K program.
Qualifying Student Requirements
Pre-K eligibility requirements:
- Child must be at least three years of age on or before September 1 of the current school year (if a 3-year-old program is available) or four years of age on or before September 1; and
- Child must be a resident of NEISD; and
- Child must be current with required immunizations; and
- Child must meet at least one of the state eligibility requirements listed below:
- Child is unable to speak and comprehend the English Language (child will be evaluated at time of registration); or
- Child is homeless (eligibility to be determined by McKinney Vento staff); or
- Child is educationally disadvantaged as determined by one of the following:
- Proof of income (paycheck stub dated after April 1, 2019 or dated within 60 days of enrollment for regular registration in August; or
- Current food stamp (SNAP) or TANF eligibility letter with date and EDG#; or
- Employer Income Verification (EIV) form dated April 1, 2019 or later or within 60 days of enrollment for regular registration in August. Form can be obtained from the NEISD Early Childhood website; or
- Child has a parent serving on active duty in the armed forces, including a child of a member injured or killed on active duty as determined by one of the following:
- Department of Defense photo ID; or
- Letter from the military showing Statement of Service, Purple Heart citation, MIA, Line of Duty Determination, Certificate of Death; or
- VA benefits letter stating injury occurred while serving on active duty; or
- Child is or ever has ever been in the conservatorship of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) following an adversary hearing as determined by the following:
- Form 2085-Foster Care; or
- Court Adoption papers as a result of DFPS custody; or
- Proof of DFPS conservatorship (including children returned to parents after hearing)
- Child has a parent who is eligible for the Star of Texas Award
- a peace officer under Section 3106.002
- a firefighter under Section 31006.003
- an emergency medical first responder under Section 31006.004
Parents/Legal Guardians will be required to provide documentation to verify eligibility at registration.