In Memoriam
Carol Taege, D'Ann Johnson, Phil Campbell, Walter Howard

Carol Taege and D'Ann Johnson

The MacArthur community suffered the loss of two long-time and cherished members of the faculty in the spring of 1998, Carol Taege and D'Ann Johnson. These two dedicated educators touched the lives of countless students during their decades of service at MacArthur.

People wishing to help further the advancement of students in fields that were dear to Mrs. Taege and Mrs. Johnson are welcome to send contributions to the following scholarship funds in their memory:

For Carol Taege, contributions may be made to the
Deanna Ellis Memorial Career/Tech Scholarship Fund

Checks may be made out to: MacArthur High School
In the "for" slot, write: Dee Ellis Scholarship Fund.
Mail contributions to: Russell Hanz, MacArthur High School

For D'Ann Johnson, contributions may be made to the
D'Ann Johnson Memorial Writers Scholarship Fund
Checks may be made out to the fund itself.
Mail contributions to: Carolyn Karger, MacArthur High School
This scholarship will be given out at "M Night" this year to a senior who shows tremendous writing skills and potential, which was a passion of D'Ann's.

Please enclose your mailing address for proper acknowledgement.


Philip Campbell

Phil Campbell passed away on September 7, 1999 at the age of 52. He taught physics at MacArthur High School for 30 years. Mr. Campbell received several awards, including: Outstanding Physics Teacher of Texas, Most Influential Teacher (chosen by graduating seniors 10 times), and Teacher of the Year (twice).

For those who wish, donations may be made to the Philip Campbell Memorial Scholarship Fund at Broadway Bank, Account No. 8328110.


Walter L. Howard III
Principal of MacArthur High School 1993-2001

Thank you for your support.

Douglas MacArthur High School
2923 MacArthur View
San Antonio, Texas 78217

MacArthur Main Menu