Churchill Wins UIL Title

  Seven of the North East ISD high schools, along with New Braunfels and Smithson Valley high schools, competed in the 26-5A University Interscholastic League (UIL) District Meet.  The district level competition is the first level for most of the events. Students finishing in the top three places advance to the regional competition. Students advancing from the regional competition will compete at the state.  Overall sweepstakes points for each school were accumulated though individual and team event placings.

Sweepstakes Results:

1st Place       Churchill High School     Principal: Jeff Vaughan        Coordinator: Julie Pasterchick
2nd Pace       MacArthur High School      
3rd Place       Madison High School    

Below are the individual and team event results:

Calculator Applications       
   3  Churchill  John Sanchez

 Computer Applications     
3  Churchill  Brian Katz

Computer Science   
4  Churchill  John Sanchez
5  Churchill  Eric Crosson

Editorial Writing     
   4  Churchill  Rebecca Rodriguez
   Feature Writing  

   1  Churchill  Lex Loro
3  Churchill  Rebecca Rodriguez

Headline Writing     
   2  Churchill  Rebecca Rodriguez   
   5  Churchill  Kirby Brown

Informative Speaking  

   1  Churchill  Erin Shaw-Meadow
   2  Churchill  Avi Munoz
   4  Churchill  Lynn Bimler
   5  MacArthur  Matthew DeWaal   

Lincoln Douglas Debate  

   1  Churchill  Karl Goering   
   3  Churchill  Tracy Frydberg
   4  Churchill  Claire Daviss

Literary Criticism    
   3  Churchill  Lauren Johnson
   4  Churchill  Jordan Sutlive
   5  Churchill  Charlene Debus 

Number Sense     
   6  Churchill  Tim Christley

Persuasive Speaking  

   1  Churchill  Claire Daviss
   3  Churchill  Tracy Frydberg   

Poetry Interpretation  

   1  Churchill  Casey Powers
   4  Churchill  Sarah Lavere

Prose Interpretation      
   4  Churchill  Chelsea Baskin
   5  Churchill  Sierra Weber   

Ready Writing 

   1  Churchill  Mario Villaplana
   2  Churchill  Matt Finlay   

Biology      1  Churchill  Kaitan Mahbubani

3  Churchill  Greg O'Brien
5  Churchill  Kaitan Mahbubani

Social Studies    
   4  Churchill  Matt Finlay   
   6  Churchill  Megan Luschen 

Computer Science  

1  Churchill  
2  Johnson  

Cross Examination Debate  

   1  Churchill   
   2  Churchill  
   3  Churchill   

Literary Criticism  

   1  Churchill   


1  MacArthur  
2  Churchill  


1  Churchill  
2  Reagan