Jackson students lead NEISD board meeting

Student Invocation and Pledge
On April 10, two students from Jackson Middle School opened the North East ISD Board of Trustees meeting with the invocation and pledge. In front of an audience of Board of Trustees, Executive Staff, District staff and guests, Julia Scott and James Vega led the invocation and pledge to the U.S. and Texas flags. Both students were selected based on their superior character and academic performance.

Julia did the invocation and was accompanied by her mother Yun Hee. Julia is a member of the National Junior Honor Society, Jackson’s award-winning band, and plays volleyball and basketball. She is also on the All-A Honor Roll and Gifted and Talented (GT) program. James recited the pledge and was accompanied by his grandparents Leann and John Andrichak, and his uncle John Andrichak IV.  James is a member of the National Junior Honor Society, on the Honor Roll, in the theatre arts program, Technology Club, Table Top Club, and Droids and Dragons Club.

2017 Texas Music Educators All-State Students
All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. In all, 1,780 students are selected through a process that begins with more than 68,000 students from around the state vying for this honor to perform in one of 15 ensembles (bands, orchestras, and choirs). The NEISD Board of Trustees recognized the 45 NEISD students who accomplished this outstanding achievement this year.

Ryan Jaffe, Cornet/Trumpet
Ethan Gurwitz, F Horn
Danny Chavarria, Cornet/Trumpet                                           Christian Stevens, Choir
Benjamin Wyndham, Choir
Kyle Maninanatan, Choir
Rachael Schwartz, Choir
Elise Estrada, Choir
Jenna Gaulden, Bb Clarinet

Dylan Fernandez De Lara, Violin
Andrew Arkhipov, Cello
Nicklas Siebert, Bass
Bryce Freund, Cornet/Trumpet
Aaron Wallick, Euphonium
Eli Canales, Tenor Trombone
John Nickels, Contra Bass
Patrick Sanford, F Horn
Maggie Alvarez, Viola
Catherine McCleskey, Choir
Audrey Payne, Flute
Lauren Siegal, Bb Clarinet

Zhaokun Zue, Violin
Anthony Lira, Cornet/Trumpet

Justin Lum, Bb Clarinet
Johnny Tolentino, Choir

Jared Lange, Bass
Philip Leclair, Bb Clarinet
Ryan Montemayor, Alto Saxophone
Spencer Landen, F Horn
Kurt Lautenshlauger, F Horn
Caleb Watson, Tenor Trombone
Evan Arnold, Tuba
Aburto Gonzalo, Choir
Evan Couch, Choir
Robert Pruski, Choir
Preston Yates, Choir
Jenny Zhang, Violin
Morgan Teel, Choir
Taylor Bini, Choir
Julianna Comstock, Choir
Ashley Thaxton, Choir
Mikayla Simonsen, Choir
MacKenzie Darilek, Choir
Hallie Gifford, Choir
Mary Dillon, Choir

Strategic Design – Transforming the Future
The North East ISD Strategic Design Team was recognized by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian G. Gottardy and trustees for its dedication and commitment to the process of building a framework for the future of NEISD. These individuals include board members past and present, campus staff, District office staff, parents, community members and students. They regularly put in long hours and provide valuable insight that will be used to move the District forward into the 21st century. These individuals include:
Letti Bresnahan, Sandy Hughey, Brigitte Perkins, Melvin Echard, Martha Staufert, Charles Elerick, Julie Magadance, Danielle Carlisle, Lisa Carnazzo, Pamela Valdes, Deb Caldwell, Patti Castellano, Tom Johnson, Oteka Gibson, Colleen Bohrmann, Terri Chidgey, Bill Boyd, Justin Missildine, Gina Elliott, Delia Gauna, Jorge Cabello, Tim Woods, Tom Johnson, Marcos Zorolla, Christine Lowak, Elena Ortiz, Laura Horansky, Tom Wueste, David Thompson, Sybel Pici, Danny Zimmerman, Nikole Vaughn, Jeff Goldhorn, Shellie Cecchine, Tanya Gill, Steve Ynostrosa, Shari Albright, and Cheryl Stocker.

VFW Post 76 Honors Tex Hill for Honor Flight Program
Representatives from San Antonio’s VFW Post 76 came to the board meeting to officially recognize parent volunteer Melinda Cox and Tex Hill Middle School for their work with Honor Flight program. Honor Flight takes veterans to Washington D.C. where they are honored and have the opportunity to visit many of the memorials and significant historical sites. Each year for the past three years, Tex Hill has sponsored a WWII veteran to take the Honor Flight. This is made possible through the coordination and fundraising efforts of Cox, Tex Hill Student Council, and teacher sponsors.

San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame Inductee
The North East ISD Board of Trustees recognized Executive Director of Athletics Karen Funk for an outstanding career and recent extraordinary achievement. Funk has been with NEISD for 31 years as a coach and director.  In 2015, Funk became the first woman Executive Director of Athletics in San Antonio, after taking over when NEISDS Executive Director Jerry Comalander retired. Based on her many achievements, Funk was inducted into the 2017 San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame on March 25. Sixteen women were recognized as iconic women in their respective career fields and communities at the special ceremony. Karen Funk’s leadership and pathfinder qualities serve as an inspiration to women throughout San Antonio and beyond.

School Library Month
School Library Month is the American Association of School Librarians' celebration of school librarians and their programs. The 2017 theme is “Because School Libraries Empower Students.” Every April, school librarians are encouraged to host activities to help their school and local community celebrate the essential role that strong school library programs play in transforming learning. At the April board meeting, trustees approved a resolution to recognize April as School Library Month in North East ISD. Librarians from NEISD schools attended in support of this important piece of the education puzzle.


Jackson students Julia Scott and James Vega welcomed by Superintendent and Board of Trustees.


NEISD All-State music students recognized for their achievements.


NEISD Strategic Design Team is honored for their dedication.


DFW Post 76 honors Melinda Cox and Hill Middle School.


Executive Director of Athletics Karen Funk honored for her induction into SA Woman's Hall of Fame.


NEISD librarians support a resolution to recognize April as School Library Month.

Posted on 04/11/2017