information for the community

Two ATA students win first place in the State Ford AAA contest

Derek and Matthew celebrate their first place win with instructor Juan Martinez.

(L to R) Matthew Arnst, Derek Thompson and ATA Instructor Juan Martinez are proud of their first place win.

Two ATA (Automotive Technology Academy) students, Derek Thompson from MacArthur High School and Matthew Arnst from Churchill High School competed against nine other teams and took first place on May 2 at the State Ford AAA competion held at San Jacinto College near Houston.

Derek and Matthew have been training for this event for the past month with a car donated by Jordan Ford. Juan Martinez, their sponsor and the academy's other two Instructors Armen Nazarian and Dan Izzi have all been working as a team getting ready for the competition.

All of their hard work and training paid off last Friday when Derek and Mattew competed and came in first place to take home the winning trophy. Both students received a $10,000 scholarship to UTI and several Snap On Tools sets.

The campus would like to thank Marc Cross from Jordan Ford for loaning the 2014 Ford Focus to train on and Dusty Clayton from North Park Lincoln for loaning the Ford Expedition for the trip to Houston.

Derek and Matthew, along with Martinez, will fly to Deerborne, Michigan on June 8, to compete in the National Ford AAA competition.

Posted on May 12, 2014