information for the community

tuscany heights awarded H-E-B grant


H-E-B today announced 12 recipients of its $15,000 “Healthy Campus” grants, part of H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program. Among the recipients was NEISD's Tuscany Heights Elementary School.

For more than a decade, H-E-B has rewarded teachers, principals, superintendents and campuses for outstanding leadership and teaching through Excellence in Education. Two years ago, H-E-B added a new category to recognize campuses interested in improving the health and wellness of their school community. This year’s 12 Healthy Campus winners will receive a three-year, $15,000 grant, to be used to enhance existing health and fitness programs or start new ones.

These schools drew up a robust plan for actively promoting H-E-B’s three pillars of health — food, body and life.

"Since the school opened in 2010, one of it's primary goals has been to promote positive and healthy lifestyles," said Tara Bailey, Tuscany Heights principal. "This is evident not just in innovative P.E. programs and healthy cafeteria options, but consistently in the messages students receive through morning announcements and in classroom learning. In addition, the school's major event, Run for the Heights, was created to fulfill this vision of creating a positive and healthy environment. Students, parents and staff work together to create this community event which includes health and wellness activities for all ages."

The school plans to use the H-E-B Healthy Campus Grant to further develop its existing programs and implement new ideas that promote health and wellness on campus.

Recipients were selected by a panel of fitness and nutrition experts from The Oliver Foundation, ACTIVE Life, the Texas Department of State Health Services, and the Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

The 2013 “Healthy Campus” grant recipients are:

Tuscany Heights Elementary — North East Independent School District, San Antonio  
Indian Springs Elementary — Comal Independent School District, San Antonio
Hemphill Elementary — Hays Independent School District, Kyle
Allison Elementary — Austin Independent School District, Austin
Glover Elementary — Fort Bend Independent School District, Missouri City
Edgewood Elementary — Spring Branch Independent School District, Houston
Atkinson Elementary — Pasadena Independent School District, Houston
Robb Elementary — Uvalde Consolidated Independent School District, Uvalde
St. Mary’s Catholic School — Brownsville
Lyford High School — Lyford Consolidated Independent School District, Lyford
IDEA Quest — IDEA Public Schools, McAllen
James and Margie Marion Elementary – Allen Independent School District, Allen

Posted on December 20, 2012