information for the community

NEISD STEM students honored at White House Science Fair

NEISD STEM students honored at White House Science Fair

The “DR. MED” team from the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Academy were honored by President Barack Obama as top eCYBERMISSION students at the White House Science Fair on Tuesday, Feb. 7.

The White House Science Fair is an annual event that honors students for STEM innovation and their positive impact on their community.

Team “DR. MED” investigated the effects improper disposal of pharmaceutical chemicals has on Edwards Aquifer, a groundwater resource for San Antonio. As a result of their study, the students received a regional 1st place award for eighth grade in the 2010-2011 eCYBERMISSION Competition. The team also earned $3,000 in U.S. Series EE Savings Bonds per student. Team members include Jocelyn Hernandez, Ricardo Rodriguez, Nathaly Salazar and Carlos Zapata.

“From earning money in savings bonds for college to attending President Obama's White House Science Fair, my students have had so many incredible experiences because of eCYBERMISSION,” said Team Advisor Sandra Geisbush in a Market Watch press release. “These once-in-a-lifetime opportunities have shown our team how important STEM really is to everyday life, both now and in the future.”

Ongoing research will continue for the students through partnerships with the Environmental Protection Agency.

eCYBERMISSION is a free, web-based STEM competition for students in grades six through nine, and showcases the importance of STEM education and the real-life applications of these subjects. Students compete for state and national awards by working in teams to identify a problem in their community and using scientific inquiry to propose a solution. eCYBERMISSION is sponsored by the U.S. Army and managed by the Research, Development and Engineering Command.

NEISD STEM students honored at White House Science Fair

Above: The Dr. Med Team with STEM Director and STEM Student Advisor, from L to R:  Carlos Zapata,  Sandra Geisbush, Nathaly Salazar, Ricardo Rodriguez, Jocelyn Hernandez, Cynthia Rinehart

Top: The Dr. Med Team photo taken in the White House, from L ro R: Ricardo Rodriguez, Carlos Zapata, Nathaly Salazar, and Jocelyn Hernandez .

Posted on February 10, 2012