information for the community

reagan shines at chemistry olympiad qualifier

Five of the nine Chemical Society National Science Exam winners are students from Reagan High School.

The annual High School Chemistry Exam is sponsored by the San Antonio Section of the American Chemical Society. Eighteen schools participated sending a total of 217 students to compete. This exam is was the regional qualifying exam for participation in the National Chemistry Olympiad. Two of the three first year chemistry student winners and three of the top six second year winners came from Reagan.

The exams were taken in March, and the awards were presented earlier this month.


Pictured from left to right: Jennifer McCormick, Johnathan Balraj, Mrs. Bridget Cavallaro, Diego Barba de la Mora, and Carson Casey. Not pictured is Christian Clark.


Posted on May 17, 2013