information for the community

NEISD College-bound seniors awarded scholarships

Security Service Federal Credit Union (FCU) has awarded $1,000 scholarships to each of four North East Independent School District (NEISD) high school seniors. This year’s recipients include: Theodore Roosevelt High School seniors Cody Jones and Anthony Aktines III, James Madison High School senior Lillian Hilliard Byas, and Douglas MacArthur High School senior Noureen Rojani.

“What better way to give back to our community than to support these bright, future leaders as they pursue their college educations?” said Jim Laffoon, Security Service FCU president.“We select our recipients based on a strong academic record, well-rounded interests, a character of integrity and focused goals. Each of these students is outstanding in all these areas.”

Cody Jones, Engineering & Technology Academy at Theodore Roosevelt High School, plans to attend Texas A&M to study chemical engineering. He is a member of the Technology Student Association and earned the honor of first in the state for graphic design. He’s won many other awards, including Best Physics Student Award and best comic actor award in theatre.

Anthony Aktines III, Design & Technology Academy at Roosevelt High School, plans to attend the Honors College at the University of North Texas to study economics. He serves as Treasurer of Mu Alpha Theta, participates in the ACE Mentorship program, and is a co-founder of the Philosophy Club. He also serves as section leader of the marching band and first chair tenor saxophone in the concert band.  

Lillian Hilliard Byas, James Madison High School, is a member of the National Honor Society and  Future Business Leaders of America. As a member of the Varsity Dance Team, Byas earned the Star Performer Award for excellence in service. She plans to attend the Baylor University to study political science and plans to become a lawyer.

Noureen Rojani, Douglas MacArthur High School, helped establish “Knit 4 the Cure” at her school. Over the last year, the club donated 100 hats to the American Cancer Society and hopes to double that count this year. She volunteers at North Central Baptist Hospital and is a member of several organizations including Health Occupations Students of America, American Sign Language Society, and National Honor Society. She will attend The University of Texas at Austin and pursue a major in accounting.

The awards are part of the SSFCU community scholarship program. Over the past 23 years, the credit union has presented in excess of $210,000 to more than 265 college-bound students. The scholarships, which can be used to pay for tuition, books, lab fees and other related educational expenses, will help these outstanding students attain their educational objectives and professional goals.

SSFCU Scholarship Recipients

(from left) Shamzy Romero, SSFCU business development officer; Anthony Aktines, senior at the Design & Technology Academy at Roosevelt High School; Lillian Byas, senior at James Madison High School; Cody Jones, senior at the Engineering & Technology Academy at Roosevelt High School; and Jessica Leal, SSFCU senior communications specialist

Posted on May 3, 2013