information for the community

NEISD names new board members, officers elected

On Saturday, May 12, 2012, NEISD residents went to the polls and elected new Board of Trustee members in Single Member Districts 4, 5 and 6. Elected members include Jim Wheat (District 4), Shannon Grona (District 5) and Letti Bresnahan (District 6). In Single Member District 1, the candidate was unopposed and the election was canceled. On April 9, 2012, the Board of Trustees voted to cancel the election and declare Single Member District 1 Candidate Sandy Hughey elected to office.

At a special board meeting held May 17, all newly elected board members were sworn into office. Trustee members then elected officers, naming Susan Galindo (District 3) as president, Bresnahan as vice president, and Hughey as secretary. Additional trustees include Edd White (District 2) and Brigitte Perkins (District 7).

The Team of Eight

The Team of Eight

NEISD Superintendent of Schools Brian G. Gottardy (standing, center) and Board of Trustee Members (L to R, standing) Jim Wheat, Brigitte Perkins, Shannon Grona, Edd White, (L to R, seated) Letti Bresnahan (vice president), Susan Galindo (president) and Sandy Hughey (secretary), make up the 'Team of Eight' for NEISD Leadership.

Posted on May 18, 2012