information for the community

37 NEISD music students selected as Texas All-State Musicians

All State Madison

Madison students Sean Abrego, alto clarinet (L) and William Nicholas, bass clarinet (R)

Thirty-seven NEISD students were selected as members of the Texas All State Band, Choir, and Orchestra this past Saturday, January 12, 2013. This year, more than 60,000 students began the rigorous audition process to become a Texas All‐State Musician.

Students compete at round 1 in district auditions. Round 2 continues with Region auditions followed by round 3 at Area Auditions. The top placements at Area are then selected to State. Selection to one of the Texas All‐State music groups is one of the highest honors and achievements for a student musician and often results in numerous scholarship awards.

Students selected will attend the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) Convention at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in February. They will spend 3 days rehearsing and performing with some of the most prestigious conductors and clinicians in the nation. The TMEA clinic and convention draws more than 25,000 participants annually, and is one of the largest gatherings of music educators in the world.

Congratulations to the following students for their selection as a 2013 Texas All‐State Musician:

  • All State - Johnson

    Johnson students from L to R: Aaron Sanchez, bass trombone; Michael Gonzales, euphonium; and Philip Sitterle, French horn

    Abigail Adams, Churchill HS
  • Mary Kelly, Churchill HS
  • Alex Bi, Churchill HS
  • Tommy Burnette, Churchill HS
  • Forrest Spengler, Churchill HS
  • Kevin Bock, Johnson HS
  • Michael Gonzales, Johnson HS
  • Christopher Jones, Johnson HS
  • Aaron Sanchez, Johnson HS
  • Philip Sitterle, Johnson HS
  • William Goree, Lee HS
  • Jillian Kouzel, MacArthur HS
  • Samantha Wellington, MacArthur HS
  • Katie Williams, MacArthur HS
  • Khadija Zakvi, MacArthur HS
  • Austin Birdy, MacArthur HS
  • Tyler Carlson, MacArthur HS
  • Jackson Grosskopf, MacArthur HS
  • Kole Pantuso, MacArthur HS

Johnson students from L to R: Aaron Sanchez, bass trombone; Michael Gonzales, euphonium; and Philip Sitterle, French horn

    MacArthur students: Katie Williams, Flute; Samantha Wellington, Flute; Jillian Kouzel, Oboe; Khadija Zakvi, Oboe; Kole Pantuso, Trumpet; Austin Birdy, Percussion; and Tyler Carlson, Percussion

    Sean Abrego, Madison HS
  • William Nicholas, Madison HS
  • Olivia Abiassi, Reagan HS
  • Elizabeth Crouch, Reagan HS
  • Ashlyn Gill, Reagan HS
  • Clarissa Kercher, Reagan HS
  • Kaitlin Landen, Reagan HS
  • Claire Mikita, Reagan HS
  • Sara O'Valle, Reagan HS
  • Elizabeth Seitter, Reagan HS
  • Andrea Walker, Reagan HS
  • Jared Dees, Reagan HS
  • Christian Doby, Reagan HS
  • Alan Kosub, Reagan HS
  • Matthew Marinelli, Reagan HS
  • Justin Napier, Reagan HS
  • Greg Spies, Reagan HS
  • Alex Vanderpot, Reagan HS

Posted on January 15, 2013