information for the community

NEISD band students advance to Area Band Auditions

DATE: Jan. 12
TIME: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
LOCATION: New Braunfels HS

Select NEISD band students across the district have advanced to the Area Band Auditions to be held in New Braunfels on January 12, 2013.

The following 12 MacArthur High School Band students will compete:

  • Katie Williams, Flute (1st Chair)
  • Samantha Wellington (2nd Chair)
  • Jillian Kouzel, Oboe (1st Chair)
  • Khadija Zakvi, Oboe (3rd Chair)
  • Dominic DiPasquale, Alto Saxophone (1st Chair)
  • Hayley Voss, Tenor Saxophone (2nd Chair)
  • Stephen Buley, French Horn (6th Chair)
  • Craig Adams, French Horn (7th Chair)
  • Kole Pantuso, Trumpet (2nd Chair)
  • Conner Carlson, Trombone (3rd Chair)
  • Tyler Carlson, Percussion (2nd Chair)
  • Austin Birdy, Percussion (6th Chair)

"We are very proud of these students and their achievement," said Brent Johnson, MacArthur band director. "Advancing to the Area Auditions is a very difficult process and these students should be commended for their hard work and dedication to their musicianship. We wish them well as they work to advance to the Texas All State Bands!"

The following Churchill High School Band students will compete:

  • Alex Bi - Clarinet
  • Jackie Guz - Clarinet
  • Julia Plotkin - Clarinet
  • Shannon Weidner - Clarinet
  • Tommy Burnette - Contra-Clarinet
  • Chandler Squires - Baritone Saxophone
  • Forrest Spengler - Trumpet
  • Sean Perez - Bass Trombone
  • Jacob Nydegger - Percussion
  • Alternates: Ariana Lerma - Piccolo, Nathan Berkowitz - Percussion, and David Fong - Oboe

"This is a prestigious honor, and the last step in the process toward being named a Texas All-state Musician, the top honor that can be earned by a Texas high school musician," said Brian Pollard, Churchill band director.

For more information, contact Brent Johnson at (210) 356-7666 or Brian Pollard at (210) 356-0041.

Posted on November 28, 2012 , updated December 7, 2012