information for the community

students lead board meeting; receive recognition

Invocation and Pledge

Students from the Academy of Creative Education led the North East ISD Board of Trustees meeting with an invocation and pledge of allegience.

Outstanding NEISD students are selected each month for this important role. On June 16, the honor was given to Geoffrey Hamlyn and Destiny Higgins. Geoffrey and Destiny are model students who recently served as Masters of Ceremony at ACE's spring commencement ceremony on June 13.

They were joined at the board meeting by their principal Dr. Chris Throm, and family members.Certificates were presented to them by Superintendent of Schools Brian G. Gottardy and Trustee Jim Wheat.



Electrical Systems Technology (EST) students

Two outstanding EST students were presented before the Board of Trustees. Paul Zuskind has been an EST student for four years, and graduated this spring Summa Cum Lade. Paul has been employed part time with Holt Caterpillar and plans on attending Blinn Jr. College in College Station, Majoring in Chemical Engineering this fall.

At this year’s State Skills USA Competition, Paul placed 2nd in Industrial Motor Control Wiring and received a Best of Show Ribbon with his car wash simulator. EST Director Steve Albert surprized Paul at the meeting by announcing that he will be the recipient of a $2,000 scholarship from Holt Caterpillar and Caterpillar Incorporated.

Matthew Swaimis a junior EST student and has been in the program for three years. Matthew is a recent graduate of the 15-week-long, Builders Exchange of Texas, Pace program and he plans studying Electrical Engineering after he graduates from high school.

In 2012-2013, at the Skills USA State competition, Matthew placed 3rd in the skills Residential Wiring Competition. This year, he not only placed 1st in the skills Residential Wiring Competition, but also received a Best of Show award for his residential wiring project.

Next week, Matthew will be traveling to Kansas City where he will be compete against the nation’s best, in the Skills USA National Competition.



Reagan Baseball

Other students recognized at the board meeting, where the members of the Reagan High School basbeall team. This impressive group of young men made it all the way to the state championship and walked away with a silver medal. The Reagan baseball team was recognized by NEISD trustees along with their trainers, coaches and NEISD Executive Director of Athletics Jerry Comalander.



Several NEISD employees were also recognized for their outstanding leadership and lifesaving actions.

Administrative Interns

Each year, district educators are selected to be Administrative Interns, who are then mentored and trained to be the newest group of district leaders. At this board meeting, the 2014-2015 interns were presented to the superintendent and trustees.

Sharon Bennett --Reading/SSI Teacher 6th Grade Krueger Middle School
Jacob Collazo --ESL Teacher 4th Grade Walzem Elementary
Marlo Dillahunty --Assistant Principal Ridgeview Elementary
Danny Ditto --Special Education Teacher Churchill High School
Alejandro Escamilla --Assistant Principal Tejeda Middle School
Daniel Gonzales --Spanish II Teacher Johnson High School
Bradley Henze --Geometry Teacher Johnson High School
Jennifer Jensen --Career & Technical Teacher Reagan High School
Diana Leal Teacher --4th Grade Walzem Elementary
Sergio Martinez --Assistant Principal Nimitz Middle School
Genaro Mendoza --Teacher, 4th Grade Larkspur Elementary
Martha Reyes --Assistant Principal “Tex” Hill Middle School
Sabina Varney --German Teacher MacArthur High School
Rosemary Villanueva-Delaney --ESL/Reading Teacher Roosevelt High School
Carrie Wenner --ESL Teacher, 3rd Grade Hidden Forest Elementary



Lifesaving Heroes

On May 30, NEISD police officer Tony Campa and school nurse Brenda Guajardo-Pena came to the aide of a man suffering a heart attack in front of Tejeda Middle School. Due to their quick actions and first aid, the man was successfully transported to the hospital and is now recovering at home. They were recognized by Board Vice President Shannon Grona and presented with a Superintendent's Coin by Superintendent of Schools Brian G. Gottardy.


Posted on June 17, 2014