information for the community

NEISD Athletes win state

North East is celebrating the achievements of their athletes. Johnson High School freshman, Chuyang Guan, won the 5A girls singles State Championship on Tuesday, April 30 at the Penick-Allison Tennis Center.  She defeated Sophia Guerra (Katy Taylor) 6-3, 6-1; Meredith Hopson (Austin Westlake) 6-4, 6-3; and Courtney Anderson (Houston Cypress-Ranch) 6-0, 6-4. The fifteen-year-old is well on her way to becoming the area’s most dominating tennis player at the 5A level.

Jaguar Golf finds great success on the biggest stage of the year too. After setting multiple school records this year, the boys' and girls' golf teams capped off their season with strong showings at the UIL State Golf Championship.  The girls from Johnson High placed 3rd overall while Sophomore Taylor Coleman won the title with rounds of 71-67 for a 6 under par total.  Coleman was coming of her greatest experience in her lifetime when she qualified to play in the North Texas LPGA Shootout in Irving after scoring 3-under 68 at the inaugural tournament.

The Jaguar boys also had a strong showing finishing after posting a school record -1 par 287 during the final round.  The Jaguars were led by Senior Captain, Jake Goodman who shot rounds of 72-68 to finish 5th.

Guam celebrates her win.
Chuyang reacts after winning the Girls single 5A State Tennis Championship.
Photo: Bob Owen - Courtesy of San Antonio Express-News
Taylor is all smiles after winning the golf tournament.
Taylor has been all smiles with all her recent athletic achievements this season.
Photo: LM Otero - Courtesy of San Antonio Express-News

Johnson's State Golf Team.

Johnson's UIL State Golf team celebrates their big-time success this season.

Taylor and Chuyang win Player of the Week
Taylor and Chuyang topped off their latest major wins by being awarded ESPN's High School Student Athletes of the Week.

Click to read about Guan’s tennis title on

Click to read about Taylor’s title and Johnson’s golf performance on

Posted on May 1, 2013