information for the community

Johnson honored as school of tolerance

Movement Club helping out at Tejeda.
Johnson's Movement Group works with the Tejeda Middle School students on Challenge Day.

Johnson High School was recently given the designation as a No Place for Hate® campus for the 2012-

2013 school year. This is the second year in a row that Johnson receives the honor for their promotion of diversity and respect for individual difference. Earning the recognition is no easy task as schools must dedicate themselves to the multi-step program, including the integration of at least three anti-bias activities throughout the school year. 

Johnson excelled in implementing activities that got students to think about the importance of performing positive actions. One activity included a writing assignment by English teachers, prompting seniors to think about their kids attending the campus 20 years from now and how they would like to be remembered as a class. The best responses were read on the simulcast with many students expressing that they’d like to be remembered as an individual that was tolerant of others.

“We’ll have to do three more activates next year to earn it again,” said Carri Elliot, coordinator of No Place for Hate initiatives in the campus. “I’ll be doing a flex class with my Movement group so they’ll be doing activities to help earn the designation.”

The Movement group consists of forty five seniors that lead the way in promoting a fully inclusive school environment. The group’s first initiative will begin during the first month of school with a mentorship program. Movement members will seek out students with introverted characteristics with the goal of becoming their big sister/big brother to make them feel at home.

Several schools in North East ISD have been recognized as No Place for Hate schools in the past. Those schools are:

Hardy Oak Elementary School
Lee High School
Madison High School
Reagan High School
Roosevelt High School

Posted on May 21, 2013